Department of Art

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


BRYNA BOBICK, Professor, EdD (2008), University of Georgia [2027]

LUCAS CHARLES, Professor, MGD (2002), North Carolina State University [2022]

LORELEI H. CORCORAN, Director of Institute of Egyptian Art and Archaeology - IEAA, Professor, PhD (1988), The University of Chicago [2028]

HAMLETT DOBBINS, MFA, Visiting Assistant Professor, MFA (2018), University of Iowa [2023]

GARY GOLIGHTLY, Professor, MFA (1995), University of Memphis [2022]

EARNESTINE JENKINS, Professor, PhD (1997), Michigan State University [2026]

RICHARD A. LOU, Professor, MFA (1986), Clemson University [2027]

LESLIE LUEBBERS, Assistant Professor and Director, Art Museum of the University of Memphis, PhD (2001), New York University [2026]

WILLIAM McKEOWN, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), Florida State University [2022]

SARAH KATE ROBERTS, Assistant Professor, MFA (2015) Alfred University [2024]

MICHAEL R. SCHMIDT, Associate Professor, PhD, (2019), University of Memphis [2026]

JED JACKSON, Professor, MFA (1980), Cornell University [2025]



PATRICIA V. PODZORSKI, Associate Professor, PhD (1994), The University of California 

JOSHUA ROBERSON, Associate Professor PhD (2007), University of Pennsylvania 

REBECCA HOWARD, Assistant Professor, PhD (2017), The Ohio State University 

DAVID L. HORAN, Assistant Professor of Practice, BLS (1994), Memphis State University

ROMONA SONIN LEE, Associciate  Professor of Practice, MFA (1998), University of Memphis 

LISA WILLIAMSON, Visiting Instructor, MFA (2015), Memphis College of Art  

KELSEY HARRISON, Assistant Professor, MFA, (2017), School of Art Institute Chicago 

LUCIENNE AUZ, Assistant Professor, PhD (2014), University of Washington 

CHRISTINE COE LAPOSSY, Assistant Professor, MFA (2013), Tufts University 

YANGBIN PARK, Assistant Professor, MFA, (2013), Temple University  


HUDD BYARD, Visiting Assistant Professor, MFA (2014), University of Memphis [2024]



NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets (used for Full and External).