Department of Civil Engineering

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


ADEL ABDELNABY, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2020]

DAVID ARELLANO, Associate Professor, PhD (2005), University of Illinois, Urbana [2030]

CHARLES CAMP, Professor, PhD (1987), Oklahoma State University [2024]

MARYAM SALEHI ESFANDARANI, Assistant Professor, PhD (2017), Purdue University [2024]

MICHAIL GKOLIAS, Assistant Professor, PhD (2007), Rutgers University [2022]

STEPHANIE S. IVEY, Professor, PhD (2003), The University of Memphis [2022]

FARHAD JAZAEI, Assistant Professor, PhD (2017), Auburn University [2025]

CLAUDIO MEIER, Associate Professor, PhD (2008). University of Montana [2023]

ROGER W. MEIER, Associate Professor, PhD (1995), Georgia Institute of Technology[2020]

SABYASACHEE MISHRA, Associate Professor, PhD (2009), Wayne State University [2027]

PAUL J. PALAZOLO, Assistant Professor, PhD (1998), Georgia Institute of Technology [2021]

SHAHRAM PEZESHK, Professor, PhD (1989), The University of Illinois [2024]

BRIAN WALDRON, Associate Professor, PhD (1999), Colorado State University [2028]

JENN PICKERING, Research Assistant Professor, PhD (2016), Vanderbilty University [2029]


SCOTT SCHOEFERNACKER, Assistant Professor, PhD (2018), University of Memphis

JENN PICKERING, PhD (2016), Vanderbilt University 

AFAQ AHMAD, PhD (2018), Heriot Watt University, UK

MARY A. YAEGER, PhD (2014), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign 

PEGAH FARSHADMANESH, PhD (2017) Illinois Institute of Technology 

RODRIGO VILLALPANDO VIZCAINO, MS (2019), The University of Memphis 


PANAGIOTIS ANGELOUDIS, PhD (2009), Imperial College London [2020]

ANTONINO CANCELLIERE, PhD (2008), Colorado State University [2022]

JASON CARROL, PhD (2012), University of Michigan [2022]

ASHRAF S. ELSAYED, PhD (1995), University of Alabama [2022]

DINCER KONUR, PhD (2011), University of Florida [2021]

DARIUSH MOTAZEDIAN, PhD (2002), Carleton University [2022]

FARZAD NAEIM, PhD (1982), University of Southern California [2025]

MOHAMED OSMAN, PhD (2016) University of Memphis [2026]

MASOUD SANAYEI, PhD (1986),  University of California, Los Angeles [2022]

ALIREZA SHAHJOUEI, PhD (2015), University of Memphis [2022]

SCOTT STOVALL, PhD (2010), University of Memphis [2022]

ADEEL ZAFAR, PhD (2013), University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2021]

ARASH ZANDIEH, PhD (2011), University of Memphis [2027]

ROBERT HUNT, PhD (1998), University of Memphis [2022]

LAURA SAIJA, PhD (2006), University of Catania [2022]

DAVID DESIMONE, PhD (2019), University of Tennessee [2023] 

HUSSAM MAHMOUD, PhD (2011), University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign [2021]

MARIA BOILE, PhD (1995), New Jersey Institute of Technology [2023]

GEORGE SAHARIDIS, PhD (2006), Ecole Centrale de Paris [2023]

SOTIRIOS THEOFANIS, PhD (2000), Aristotle University of Thessaloniki [2023]

VIVEK BEDEKAR, PhD (2019), Auburn University [2024]

DIMITRIOS FITZIOA, PhD (2015), Aristotle University of Thessaloniki [2024]

BEHROOZ TAVAKOLI, PhD (2003), Uppsala University, Sweden [2024]

PEYMAN BABAKHANI, PhD (2019), University of Liverpool-National Tsing Hua University [2025]

KATERINE (KATIE) BELL, PhD (2004), Vanderbilt University [2025]

ZOYA FARAJPUR, PhD (2021), University of Memphis [2025]

UMAIR BIN WAHEED, PhD (2015), King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) [2025]

THALIS ZIS, PhD (2016), Imperial College London [2025]

REZA SOLTANIAN, PhD (2015), Wright State University [2025]

MARTIN LIPINSKI, PhD (1972), University of Illinois, Ubana-Champaign [2026]

HOLLY K. ENLOW, PhD (2017), Oklahoma State University [2026]

DANIEL B. WRIGHT, PhD (2013), Princeton [2026]

TIMONTHY BECHTEL, PhD (1989), Brown University [2027]

SUVIN P. VENTHURUTHIYIL, PhD (2021), Indian Institute of Technology Guwhati, India [2027]

DIWAS THAPA, PhD (2023), University of Memphis [2027]

BEHZAD GHANBARIAN, PhD (2014), Wright State University [2027]

NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets for Full and External only.