Department of Mechanical Engineering

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


EBRAHIM ASADI (2015), Associate Professor: B.Sc., 2006, University of Kerman; M.Sc., 2008, Amirkabir University of Technology; Ph.D., 2011, Mississippi State University [2029]

ALI FATEMI (2017), Ring Companies Professor and Chair: B.S., 1979, University of Iowa; M.S., 1980, University of Iowa; PhD.,1985, University of Iowa [2024]

DANIEL V. FOTI (2019), Assistant Professor: B.S. 2009, Case Western Reserve University; M.S., 2012, Georgia Institute of Technology; Ph.D., 2016, University of Minnesota [2025]

YUAN GAO (2022), Assistant Professor: B.S. 2017, Chongqing University; M.S., 2018, Chongqing University; Ph.D., 2022, University of Illinois at Chicago [2028]

RANGANATHAN GOPALAKRISHNAN (2016), Associate Professor: B. Tech. M.E., 2008, National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli, India; Ph.D., 2013, University of Minnesota [2024]

YUE GUAN (2022), Assistant Professor: B.S. 2012, Tsinghua University; M.S., 2015, Tsinghua University; Ph.D., 2019, Duke University [2028]

AMIR HADADZADEH (2019), Assistant Professor: B.S., 2005, Sharif University of Technology; M.S., 2007, Sharif University of Technology; Ph.D., 2013, University of Waterloo [2025]

ALEXANDER HEADLEY (2020), Assistant Professor: B.S., 2008, University of Kentucky; M.S., 2013, University of Texas at Austin; Ph.D., 2016, University of Texas at Austin [2026]

JOHN I. HOCHSTEIN (1991), Emeritus Professor: B.S., 1973, Stevens Institute of Technology; M.S.M.E., 1979, Pennsylvania State University; Ph.D., 1984, University of Akron [2026]

WILLIAM S. JANNA (1987), Emeritus Professor: B.S.M.E., 1971, M.S.M.E., 1973, Ph.D., 1976, University of Toledo [2026]

YONG HOON LEE (2022), Assistant Professor: B.S. 2008, Ajou University; M.S., 2010, Ajou University; Ph.D., 2020, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign [2028]

GLADIUS LEWIS (1987), Professor: B.Sc., 1972, University of London, England; M.Sc., 1974, Council for National Academic Awards, England; Ph.D., 1976, University of Nottingham, England [2025]

HSIANG H. LIN (1985), Emeritus Professor: B.S.M.E., 1974, National Chung-Hsing University; M.S.M.E., 1980, Ph.D., 1985, University of Cincinnati [2026]

JEFFREY G. MARCHETTA (2002), Professor: B.S.M.E., 1997, M.S.M.E., 1999, Ph.D., 2002, University of Memphis [2029]

KAZI MAHMUD MIRZA (2021), Assistant Professor of Teaching: B.S. 2005, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology; MBA, 2008, University of Dhaka; Ph.D., 2016, Auburn University [2029]

REZA MOLAEI (2021), Assistant Professor: B.S. 2008, Sharif University of Technology; M.S., 2012, Sharif University of Technology; Ph.D., 2019, University of Memphis [2027]


NIMA SHAMSAEI, PhD (2010), University of Toledo


JOHN C. BLANTON, PhD (1981), Virginia Tech [2021]

JASON CARROLL, PhD (2012), University of Michigan [2022]

GORDON HUNTER, PhD (1984), Massachusetts Institute of Technology [2015]

SI JANNA, PhD (2003), University of Memphis [2019]

HAI TRIEU, PhD (1995), Case Western Reserve University [2026]

DANIJELA ROSTOHAR, PhD (University of Stockholm, Sweden [2023]

ANDREW JOSEPH KURZAWSKI, PhD (2017) The University of Texas at Austin [2026]

EDWARD THOMAS, PhD (1996), Auburn University [2026]

TRUELL HYDE, PhD (1988), Baylor University [2026]

JAMES C. NEWMAN, JR., PhD (1974), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University [2026]

REED WITTMAN, PhD (2019), University of Tennessee, Knoxville [2026]

 NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.