Department of Economics

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


ANDREW HUSSEY, Associate Professor, PhD (2006), Duke University [2025]

DAVID M. KEMME, Professor, PhD (1980), The Ohio State University [2027]

ALBERT A. OKUNADE, Professor, PhD (1986), The University of Arkansas at Fayetteville [2027]

WILLIAM T. SMITH, Professor, PhD (1987), The University of Virginia [2022]

JOONHYUNG LEE, Assistant Professor, PhD (2009), University of Texas at Austin [2026]

JAMIN SPEER, Associate Professor, PhD (2014), Yale University [2026]


CARMEN FIGARI, Assistant Professor, PhD (2012), Washington University St. Louis 

JOSE J LOPEZ, Assistant Professor, PhD (2014) University of Chicago  


JEFFREY JOBU MORRIS BABIN, PhD (2017), The University of Memphis [2021]

DAVID C. SHARP, PhD (1997), The University of Memphis [2021]

JACOB KLEINOW, PhD (2016), TU Freiberg [2023]

JAERIM CHOI, PhD (2018), University of California, Davis [2024]

KARAR ZUNAID AHSAN, PhD (2021), University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill [2026]


NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets for Full and External only.