College of Professional and Liberal Studies

The University bestows the designation "Graduate Faculty" upon faculty following review of their credentials and recommendation by their colleagues. The University maintains three levels of graduate faculty: (1) Full, (2) Associate, and (3) External.

Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees. Full or Associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees. Only one external graduate faculty member may serve as a voting member on any master's or doctoral committee.


COLIN CHAPELL, Instructor, PhD (2011), University Alabama [2023]

RICHARD L. IRWIN, Professor, EdD (1990). University of Northern Colorado [2025]

DAN L. LATTIMORE, Professor, PhD (1972), University of Wisconsin-Madison [2023]



WILLIAM AKEY, Vice President in Enrollment Services, EdD (2006), University of Memphis [2020]

JOY AUSTIN, Instructor,  DA (1983), University of Mississippi [2022]

HAL L. FREEMAN, JR., Instructor, MBA (1999), Union University [2020]

JOANNE GIKAS, Interim Dean, EdD (2011), University of Memphis [2020]

TIFFANY JOHNSON, Instructor, JD (2002), Georgetown University Law Center [2022]

LORETTA RUDD, Clinical Associate Professor, PhD (2003), Baylor University [2021]

RON SERINO, Instructor, PhD (2016), Brite Divinity School [2023]

LORRAINE MEINERS-LOVEL, Instructor, PhD (2020), University of Memphis [2026]



HANS CHUN, Instructor, PhD (2008) University of Pacific [2021]


RADIE KRUEGER, EdD, Nova Southeastern University [2020]



NOTE: Expiration date of graduate faculty membership is indicated in brackets.

*Adjunct teaching only status no longer requires the submission of the Graduate Faculty Status application.*