Welcome to University Schools: Home to UofM's Youngest Tigers


The University Schools are the training and laboratory, tuition free public schools located at the University of Memphis. The University Schools serve over 1,000 students from six weeks through 10th grade (growing to 12th grade by the 2025-26 school year) at four schools and two partnerships:

  • ELRC (Barbara K. Lipman Early Learning & Research Center)
  • Campus School
  • University Middle School
  • University High School
  • Porter-Leath & University of Memphis Early Childhood Academy at Orange Mound (or PLUM) *partnership
  • The Harwood Center *partnership

Founded in 1912, the University Schools have been the training site for teaching candidates at the University of Memphis for over 111 years. We are the highest performing school system in the state of Tennessee and we produce research findings that shape policies, practices, and learning across Memphis, the state, the region, and the country.