Recent and upcoming events at CERI


Dr. Christine Powell[October, 2016] CERI faculty Dr. Christine Powell has won the 2016 Jesuit Seismological Association Award given annually by the Eastern Section of the Seismological Society of America.  The award is given for outstanding contributions to observational seismology particularly towards the understanding of seismology and/or seismotectonics in eastern North America.  Professor Powell has made extensive studies of the major intraplate seismic zones of North America including the New Madrid, the Eastern Tennessee, and the Charlevoix, Canada, Seismic Zones.  the award is named after the Jesuit Seismological Association that operated the first world-wide network of seismic stations in the early 20th Century. Professor Powell will receive her commendation at the upcoming annual meeting of the Eastern Section that will be held in Reston, Virginia, October 23-26, 2016.



Shima[October 2017] PhD Student Shima Azizzadeh-Roodpish was recognized with the Best Student Oral Presentation award at the 2017 Eastern Section Annual Meeting of the Seismological Society of America for his work titled "Visibility Graph Analysis of Alaska: An Investigation into the Correlation Between b-value and K-M Slope," which she co-authored with PhD student Naeem Khoshnevis and Prof. Chris Cramer.


Mostafa Mousavi

[June, 2016] PhD Student Mostafa Mousavi has been given the 2016 SSA Student Presentation Award for his paper "Hybrid Seismic Denoising Using Higher Order Statistics and Improved Wavelet Block Thresholding". From among a total of 140 student presentations evaluated by the Student Award subcommittee at the 2016 SSA Annual Meeting in Reno, Nevada, Mostafa was chosen as one of five for recognition. The abstract is available here.


Yang Yang

[June, 2015] PhD student Yang Yang has been awarded a scholarship from the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) for the 2015-2016 academic year. The recognition given to Yang includes scholarship funds from the SEG/Excel Geophysical Services Scholarship, the Fred and Kathi Hilterman Scholarship, and the SEG/Schlumberger Scholarship.


Earthscope students[June, 2015] PhD students Akram Mostafanejad, Brian YoungCecilia Nyamwandha, and John Meredith received travel grants to attend the EarthScope meeting held in Stowe, Vermont from June 14–17. Conference highlights included the opportunity to showcase research in the poster sessions, hear firsthand results of pioneering EarthScope studies and discussions on the future after EarthScope.




Cecilia Nyamwandha

[May, 2015] PhD student Cecilia Nyamwandha received a travel grant to attend the 2015 Joint Assembly Meeting cosponsored by AGU, CGU, GAC, and MAC. This meeting was held May 3–7 at the Palais des Congrès de Montréal in Montreal, Canada. At the meeting she presented a poster titled "What is the Driving Mechanism of Earthquakes in the New Madrid Seismic Zone? – A study of Shear Wave Splitting and Tomography" co-authored with CERI Prof. Christine Powell. The abstract of Cecilia's presentation can be found here.


Cecilia Nyamwandha

[April, 2015] PhD student Cecilia Nyamwandha received a Student Presentation Award at the 2015 Annual Meeting of the Seismological Society of America for her poster "Anisotropy beneath the New Madrid Seismic Zone – A study of shear wave splitting."  The SSA Student Presentation Awards recognize excellence in student poster presentations or talks at its annual meeting. The award is given to up to 15% of the number of students presenting at the meeting, whose presentations met an absolute criteria covering the quality of both content and presentation. The abstract of her presentation, co-authored with CERI Prof. Christine Powell can be found here.


Naeem Khoshnevis[April, 2015] PhD student Naeem Khoshnevis received a travel grant from the Seismological Society of America (SSA) to to attend the 2015 SSA Annual Meeting. The event was held on April 21–23 in Pasadena, California. At the meeting, Naeem participated with an oral presentation titled "Evaluation of attenuation models (Qs-Vs relationships) used in physics-based ground-motion earthquake simulation," co-authored with CERI and Civil Engineering Assistant Prof. RicardoTaborda. The abstract of Naeem's presentation can be found here.


Demian Gomez[March, 2015] PhD student Demian Gomez was recognized with the 2nd Place Prize for his poster presentation at the University of Memphis Student Research Forum. The event, hosted by the Graduate School, the University Honors Program, and the Graduate Student Association, took place at the University Center on March 30.  The forum provides a venue for students at the University of Memphis to present their research to a panel of faculty judges in their respective disciplines.


Cecilia Nyamwandha

[December, 2014] PhD student Cecilia Nyamwandha received a travel grant to attend the 2014 Fall Meeting of the American Geophysical Union (AGU). The meeting was held in San Francisco, California on December 15–19. At the meeting she presented a poster titled "Crustal and upper mantle velocity structure of the New Madrid Seismic Zone" co-authored with CERI Prof. Christine Powell and Prof. Charles Langston. The abstract of Cecilia's presentation can be found here.


Akram Mostafanejad[November, 2014] PhD student Akram Mostafanejad was awarded the Best Student Poster Award at the Annual Meeting of the Easter Section of the Seismological Society of America. Her poster, titled "Average shear wave velocity for the Mississippi embayment sediment inferred from teleseismic P-wave spectral ratios" was co-author with CERI Director, Prof. Charles Langston. The ESSSA meeting was held on November 2-4, 2014 in Charleston, South Carolina.


Exxon Student Education Program[October, 2014] PhD students Yang Yang and Blaine Bockholt were selected to attend the SEG/Exxon Mobil Student Education Program. This two and a half days training program includes lectures and exercises effectively conducted and related to the geosciences or to geophysical work performed in the oil industry. ExxonMobil provides course materials, team exercises, and instructors. Participants undergo a rigorous selection process and receive full travel grants to join the program. This year's program took place in Denver, Colorado, on October 24-26, during the SEG International Exposition and 84th Annual Meeting.


Akram Mostafanejad[October, 2014] PhD student Akram Mostafanejad was selected to participate in the SEG/Chevron Student Leadership Symposium (SLS). The recognition included a travel grant to participate in a two-day focused leadership program. The event took place during the SEG Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado.



Naeem Khoshnevis[September, 2014] PhD student Naeem Khoshnevis was selected to participate in the 2014 Summer School on Earthquake Science, organized by the Southern California Earthquake Center (SCEC) and the University of Tokyo's Earthquake Research Institute (ERI). The event was held on September 28 through October 2, in Oxnard, California. The theme for the program was titled "Wave and rupture propagation with realistic velocity structures". More than 65 applications were reviewed and only 22 U.S. and International participants were selected to join 10 scholars from the US and Japan.


Akram Mostafanejad and Demian Gomez[June, 2014] PhD students Akram Mostafanejad and Demian Gomez received travel grants to attend the CIG Crustal Deformation Modeling Workshop. The workshop was held at Stanford University and included hands-on tutorials on PyLith, a finite-element code for crustal deformations simulations related to earthquakes and volcanoes.