COE Rumble Award Winners Announced

MEMPHIS, Tenn. – This year’s winners of the College of Education (COE) Hubert E. Rumble Outstanding Student Teacher Award are Seniors LaNerra Gray and Mekyland Williams, recognizing both as the most outstanding of UofM’s student teachers for the 2023-24 school year.

“I love recognizing our students for their accomplishment. Many of them work so hard and sacrifice so much during the Residency Year, so I love when they are rewarded for their hard work and dedication to becoming teachers,” said Dr. Nichelle Robinson, COE’s director of Teacher Education and Clinical Practice (OTECP). “Receiving the Rumble Award for Outstanding Student Teacher is an excellent way to be honored as they complete our programs.”

LaNerra Gray

Gray, who will be receiving her bachelor’s degree in COE’s Teaching All Learners (TALN) Program, is currently a student teacher at Bartlett High School with previous student teacher stints at Sea Isle Elementary, Sherwood Middle and Cordova High. She said her senior year has been a tale of being constantly on the go, but receiving this award makes her feel all her hard work has not gone unnoticed.

“I have utilized every skill my previous teachers have demonstrated and added my own twist to them to be what I am today: loving, supporting, welcoming, encouraging, fun and the most important trait, faithful,” said Gray.

Mekyland Williams

Meanwhile, Williams, also receiving her bachelor’s degree in TALN, is a student teacher at South Elementary in Pinson, Tenn., teaching fourth-grade science. Receiving the Rumble Award has excited her and helped ready her for her future as an educator, as she said it reflects the impact she feels she has had on her students.

“One who is worthy of the Rumble Award is first worthy of their students, as they are already enough,” said Williams.

Student teacher mentors make nomination for the Rumble Award ever year, each nominee creating and submitting a packet to the Rumble Award Committee, which consists of OTECP representatives and three COE supervisors. Two nominees are selected each year.