Physics and Materials Science
Circular Motion Experiment
Magnetic Materials Research Lab
Magnetic Materials Research Lab
Physics I Teaching Lab
Conceptual Physics Teaching Lab
Dr. Xiao Shen wins 2016 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award in Physical Sciences

Catalyst for innovative research in Physics and Materials Science, Education, and Training.

Jingbiao Cui

Welcome to the Department of Physics and Materials Science at The UofM

Our goal is to advance scientific knowledge and innovation while at the same time educating the next generation of talented scientists. Our dedicated faculty supports this mission with cutting-edge research, unique programs, and a supportive learning environment. Chair's Message

NSF Grant recipients

Dr. Xiao Shen Dr. Jingbaio Cui Dr. Thang Ba Hoang

Three of our faculty have been awarded NSF grants for projects which starts July 1st 2017 through June 30th 2020. Drs. Shen & Cui would work on a project titled "Silicon Telluride, A 2D Material with Unique Variable Structure." Dr. Hoang, the third recipient would work on a project titled "Directional Superradiant Light Emission-Near-Zero Plasmonic Nanochannels." Find out more about the grants and projects here

Drs. Narahari Achar and John Hanneken

Department of Physics and Materials Science News and Highlights

Follow the Department of Physics and Materials Science faculty and students in their research, presentations, travels and accomplishments.  Read More