Faculty Athletics Committee

The Faculty Athletics Committee serves as the faculty advisory group to the President on institutional issues related to intercollegiate athletics. It fosters the University's commitment to academic integrity within the athletic department, strives to ensure that the athletic department operates in consonance with the University's educational mission, and actively promotes the welfare and educational success of our student-athletes.

Faculty Athletics Committee Charge Document


  • Lynda Wray Black, Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law; and Faculty Athletics Representative to the NCAA

Voting Members

  • Niki Bray, College of Health Sciences
  • Kensha Clark, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Melloni Cook, College of Arts and Sciences
  • George Deitz, Fogelman College of Business and Economics
  • William Hunter, College of Education
  • Jeffrey Marchetta, Herff College of Engineering
  • Antonio de Velasco, College of Communication and Fine Arts
  • Tracy Mason Collins, Faculty Senate Representative
  • Esra Ozdenerol, Faculty Senate Representative

Ex-Officio Members

  • Laird Veatch, Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics
  • Jeff Crane, Deputy Athletic Director
  • Adam Walker, Executive Associate Athletic Director, Administration 
  • Marlon Dechausay, Senior Associate Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Welfare 
  • Fernandez West, Associate Athletic Director, Center for Athletic Academic Services 
  • Zaneta Ivy, Sr. Coordinator Athletic Compliance 
  • Thomas Nenon, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
  • Melanie S. Murry, Office of Legal Counsel
  • John M. Ryall, Office of Legal Counsel
  • Matthew White, Student Representative