federalist board 2016


The Society's main purpose is to sponsor fair, serious, and open debate about the need to enhance individual freedom and the role of the courts in saying what the law is rather than what they wish it to be. We believe debate is the best way to ensure that legal principles that have not been the subject of sufficient attention for the past several decades receive a fair hearing. Throughout the school year, this organization will host many events over controversial and important topics that will challenge students and professors alike to consider both sides of the arguments and make a well educated decision on which side offers the best support.

  • Law schools and the legal profession are currently strongly dominated by a form of orthodox liberal ideology which advocates a centralized and uniform society. While some members of the academic community have dissented from these views, by and large they are taught simultaneously with (and indeed as if they were) the law.
  • The Federalist Society for Law and Public Policy Studies is a group of conservatives and libertarians interested in the current state of the legal order. It is founded on the principles that the state exists to preserve freedom, that the separation of governmental powers is central to our Constitution, and that it is emphatically the province and duty of the judiciary to say what the law is, not what it should be. The Society seeks both to promote an awareness of these principles and to further their application through its activities.
  • This entails reordering priorities within the legal system to place a premium on individual liberty, traditional values, and the rule of law. It also requires restoring the recognition of the importance of these norms among lawyers, judges, law students and professors. In working to achieve these goals, the Society has created a conservative and libertarian intellectual network that extends to all levels of the legal community.

2015-2016 Executive Board:

  • President - Hunter Yoches
  • Vice President - Briana Lynch
  • Secretary - Tara Brown
  • Treasurer - Fredrick Culver
  • Director of Communications - Alexis Peddy
  • 1L Representative (Section 11) - Christopher Burt
  • 1L Representative (Section 12) - Connor Kohlscheen