History of the New Madrid Seismic Zone


The New Madrid area was still part of the American Frontier, with the Louisiana Territory purchased in 1804. Population was sparse at the earthquake location.

The three great quakes were on December 16, 1811, January 23rd, 1812, and February of 1812, with numerous aftershocks felt between the major earthquakes.

Our New Madrid Compendium has MANY eyewitness accounts gleaned from journal entries, diaries, letters to the editors of major newspapers, etc.

Damage was widespread, settlement was delayed in the damaged area, the Mississippi River was damaged due to log jams and mudslides, and Reelfoot Lake was created.