FCBE Professor, Campbell, and Student, Ehrat, Named Winners of SPARK Awards

For release:  November 21, 2014

Dr. Douglas Campbell, professor of Economics and director for the Center of Economic Education, and senior Management student, Austin Ehrat, were both named the winners of the SPARK Awards in their respective categories this afternoon. The SPARK Awards Ceremony is a televised event that celebrates individuals, corporations, and schools across 13 different categories who are igniting change and making a difference in the community. Nominations came from the public and only three finalists per category were selected from potential candidates by members of the Rotary Club of Memphis.
“It is an inspiration and honor to be recognized as someone who is making a positive impact in the Memphis community,” said Dr. Campbell. “I genuinely believe that the University of Memphis, Fogelman College of Business, and the city as a whole have enormous potential. I am excited to be a part of developing that potential.”
“This award is a direct reflection of the knowledge and guidance that I received through my participation in the Complete Professional Program,” said Ehrat. “Dr. Kathy Tuberville and Dean Rajiv Grover were an instrumental part of my development into a community leader.”
The winners were announced at a luncheon at the Memphis Botanic Garden this afternoon. This event was taped for broadcast on WKNO-Channel 10 and will air on Wednesday, November 26, 2014 at 8:00PM.
“We are very proud of Dr. Campbell’s and Austin’s efforts towards the betterment of the Memphis community” said Rajiv Grover, Dean of Fogelman College. “Their work reflects the type of local involvement that Fogelman College actively supports.”

This event is produced in partnership with WKNO-TV, the Lipscomb Pitts Breakfast Club, Media Source, and the Rotary Club of Memphis. For more information on the SPARK Awards, please visit http://www.thelpbc.com/initiatives/spark-awards.