Dr. Cyril Chang recognized as a faculty research "millionaire"

For release:  March 8, 2017

Dr. Cyril Chang, professor of Economics and director of Methodist Le Bonheur Center for Healthcare Economics, was recently recognized by the University of Memphis (UofM) in the 2016 class of faculty research "millionaires." This elite group is comprised of faculty members who have served as principal investigator (PI) on more than $1 million in externally supported research during their tenure at the University of Memphis.

"Raising over $1 million represents a significant milestone that is not easily accomplished," said Deborah Hernandez, Director of Research Development. "This level of support is earned by being a leader in some area of discovery, research, or service. It also signifies tremendous amounts of hard work beyond teaching, publishing, and other traditional academic commitments."

The Faculty PI Millionaire Recognition Program was established to commemorate the University of Memphis' centennial celebration. To date, only three other faculty members from the Fogelman College of Business and Economics have achieved this award – Dr. John Gnuschke, director of the Sparks Bureau of Business and Economic Research, Dr. Benwari Kedia, Wang Chair of Excellence in International Business and professor in the Department of Management, and Dr. Jasbir Dhaliwal, chief innovation officer for the UofM and dean of the Graduate School. Chang will be the fourth recognized member of this elite FCBE group. He has published one book and has had over 120 referenced articles in health care, education, and nonprofit economics.

"Dr. Chang's commitment to the healthcare community and Fogelman College is extraordinary," said Dr. Rajiv Grover, Dean of Fogelman College. "We are very proud of his accomplishment as a faculty PI 'millionaire' but, especially for his involvement in the advancement of many of today's most prevalent health care topics."

Also recognized at this year's celebration was Dr. Zabihollah Rezaee, Thompson-Hill Chair of Excellence and professor of Accounting, for authoring/editing a book in 2016.