SHRM-Memphis announces four FCBE nominees for HR Excellence Awards

For release:  February 9, 2018

SHRM-Memphis recently released the list of nominees for the 2018 HR Excellence Awards. Fogelman College is proudly represented by four nominees:

HR Student of the Year: Tiyana Childres, senior Management/HR concentration student is the only nominee for the Student of the Year award. She is president of the SHRM Student Chapter and was the team leader for the SHRM Case Competition national winning team in 2017. Tiyana has held HR internships with AutoZone and the City of Memphis. Currently, she serves as the college relations intern at International Paper. Tiyana will graduate summa cum laude in May 2018.

HR Emerging Leader: Tyler Stegall, FCBE alumnus and HR coordinator for the City of Memphis, is one of this year's HR Emerging Leader nominees. He began his tenure at the City of Memphis as an intern and was hired upon graduation. In his new role, he works closely with Fogelman College and the UofM to hire other students. Tyler is the former SHRM Student Chapter president and a member of the 2017 Case Competition team. He now serves on the SHRM-Memphis Board as the college relations chair.

HR Emerging Leader: Management major/HR concentration student, Patrick Crowder, is another nominee for the HR Emerging Leader award. Patrick recently accepted a full-time position in the Total Force Human Resources and Manpower Office for the Naval Bureau of Personnel. He serves as vice president of the SHRM Student Chapter, president of the SVBA, and is a veteran from both the Air Force and Army branches of service. Patrick will graduate in May 2018.

HR Champion: Dr. Kathy Tuberville, faculty member in the Department of Management and faculty director of the Avron B. Fogelman Professional Development Center, serves as co-vice president of programming for the SHRM-Memphis Chapter and the faculty advisor for the UofM SHRM Memphis Chapter. Additionally, she is the faculty advisor for the SVBA and co-advisor for Fogelman Women in Leadership.

The HR Excellence Awards ceremony is February 20 at the Memphis Bioworks Foundation.