SHRM-Memphis announces winners, Dr. Kathy Tuberville and Tiyana Childres

For release:  February 23, 2018

SHRM-Memphis recently named two FCBE representatives as winners at its annual HR Excellence Awards ceremony.

Dr. Kathy Tuberville won the HR Champion award. This category had six nominees from various areas of industry. Kathy is a faculty member in the Department of Management and faculty director of the Avron B. Fogelman Professional Development Center. She serves as co-vice president of programming for the SHRM-Memphis Chapter and the faculty advisor for the UofM SHRM Memphis Chapter. Additionally, she is the faculty advisor for the SVBA and co-advisor for Fogelman Women in Leadership.

Tiyana Childres was selected for the HR Student of the Year award. Tiyana, senior Management/HR concentration student, is president of the SHRM Student Chapter and was the team leader for the SHRM Case Competition national winning team in 2017. Tiyana has held HR internships with AutoZone and the City of Memphis. Currently, she serves as the college relations intern at International Paper. Tiyana will graduate summa cum laude in May 2018.

"The Fogelman College of Business and Economics is pleased to see Dr. Tuberville's outstanding work and dedication to propelling our undergraduate students and the SHRM-Memphis student chapter," said Dr. Chuck Pierce, associate dean of Academic Programs and Research and chair of the Department of Management. "Congratulations, Dr. Tuberville and Tiyana Childres. We are very proud of you!"