X

Department Aide Role Overview

Purpose of the Department Aide Role

The Department Aide role was created as an option for departments to have more local control over the learning management system. They also have access to immediate servicing of their faculty's needs as they teach with Canvas. There are significant permissions of the Department Aide role in Canvas.

Individuals with access to this account should understand the appropriate use of the authority. Department Aides are granted with access to all the courses within their department. FERPA mandates that users should guard all forms of student course information from any misuse. Additionally, serious technical issues can arise if Department Aides override information fed from UofM's information system, Banner. Banner controls the creation and population of all for-credit courses taught through the university. 


Departmental Support

Many departments in the university have what is known as a Department Aide. They are specially trained faculty or staff members who have been appointed by the dean or chair to serve the faculty as Canvas guides and facilitators. They have been trained to do things like copy course content, add TAs to courses, edit courses, and more! 


Below is our full listing of individuals with Department Aide access organized by department. You can check to see if your department is served by one of these specially trained individuals. 

Name/Email Address/Department

Accountancy 
Philip Babin - pbabin@memphis.edu – Accountancy 
Jeffrey Mark Nevels - jmnevels@memphis.edu – Accountancy 
Jordan Red - jred@memphis.edu – Accountancy


Aerospace Studies 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Aerospace Studies


 Anthropology 
Keri Brondo - kbrondo@memphis.edu – Anthropology 
John Marshall Gilmore - jmgilmor@memphis.edu – Anthropology 
 Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – Anthropology


Biological Sciences 
David A Freeman - dfreemn1@memphis.edu - Biological Sciences 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Biological Sciences


Business Administration 
Laura L Alderson - laldersn@memphis.edu - Business Administration 
Jordan Red - jred@memphis.edu - Business Administration 


Business Info and Technology 
Jordan Red - jred@memphis.edu - Business Info and Technology 


CCH School of Law 
Meredith Aden - maden@memphis.edu - CCH School of Law 
Cheryl Edwards - cedwrds2@memphis.edu - CCH School of Law 
Jodi Wilson - jlwlson2@memphis.edu - CCH School of Law 



Chemistry 
Nate DeYonker - ndyonker@memphis.edu – Chemistry 
Jermaine Johnson - jjhnsn26@memphis.edu – Chemistry 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – Chemistry 
Yongmei Wang - ywang@memphis.edu – Chemistry 



City and Regional Planning 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - City and Regional Planning


Coll of Prof & Liberal Studies 
Mary Ewart - mewart@memphis.edu - Coll of Prof & Liberal Studies 
Barbara Fitzgerald - B.Fitzgerald@memphis.edu - Coll of Prof & Liberal Studies 
Joanne Gikas - jgikas@memphis.edu - Coll of Prof & Liberal Studies 
Lorraine Ann Meiners-Lovel - lmnrslvl@memphis.edu - Coll of Prof & Liberal Studies 


College of Arts and Sciences 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - College of Arts and Sciences 


College of Health Sciences 
Nicco R Bray - nbolden@memphis.edu - College of Health Sciences 
Michelle B Stockton - mstocktn@memphis.edu - College of Health Sciences 
Debra Howard Wyatt - dlhowrd1@memphis.edu - College of Health Sciences 


Comm Sciences and Disorders 
Frances Wright Breland - fwright2@memphis.edu - Comm Sciences and Disorders 


Communication  
Cicely T Wilson - ctwilsn1@memphis.edu – Communication 


Computer Science 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Computer Science 


Criminology and Crim Justice 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Criminology and Crim Justice 
Montoya S Williams - misom@memphis.edu - Criminology and Crim Justice 


Earth Sciences 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Earth Sciences 


Economics 
Jordan Red - jred@memphis.edu – Economics 


English 
Ronald Fuentes - rfuentes@memphis.edu – English 
Emily Gillo - epsmith2@memphis.edu – English 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – English 
Terrence Theodore Tucker - tttucker@memphis.edu – English 


Finance Ins and Real Estate 
Jordan Red - jred@memphis.edu - Finance Ins and Real Estate 
Mark Sunderman - msndrman@memphis.edu - Finance Ins and Real Estate 


History 
Rosa Erika Feleg - refeleg@memphis.edu – History 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – History 
Sarah Potter - spotter1@memphis.edu – History 
Amanda Lee Keikialoha Savage - aksavage@memphis.edu – History 
Daniel L Unowsky - dunowsky@memphis.edu – History 


Independent Programs 
G L Guy - gguy@memphis.edu - Independent Programs 
Emily Mann - ekmann@memphis.edu - Independent Programs 
Karen Thurmond - kthurmnd@memphis.edu - Independent Programs 



Instruction and Curr Ldrship 
Debra Nichols - dnichls1@memphis.edu - Instruction and Curr Ldrship 
Shelby Lynn Tate - state1@memphis.edu - Instruction and Curr Ldrship 


Interdisciplinary Programs 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Interdisciplinary Programs 
Kevin Curtis Taylor - kctylor3@memphis.edu - Interdisciplinary Programs 


Journalism & Strategic Media 
Morgan D Arant - darant@memphis.edu - Journalism & Strategic Media 
Teri Denise Hayslett - tdhysltt@memphis.edu - Journalism & Strategic Media 
Kim S Marks - ksmarks@memphis.edu - Journalism & Strategic Media 


Leadership 
Ronald Platt - replatt@memphis.edu – Leadership 



Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Melissa Dawn Eakens - mdeakens@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Cynthia Evans - clevens3@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Brenda Fortney - bfortney@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Riley Gordon - rrgrdon1@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
M Danielle Gunter - mgunter@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Bradley Harrell - bharrell@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Kendra Johnson - kjhnsn74@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Leila Bryce Schroeder - kbryce@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 
Larry Slater - lslater2@memphis.edu - Loewenberg College of Nursing 


Management 
Laura L Alderson - laldersn@memphis.edu – Management 
Jordan Red - jred@memphis.edu – Management 


Marketing and Supply Chain Mgt
Laura L Alderson - laldersn@memphis.edu - Marketing and Supply Chain Mgt 
Jordan Red - jred@memphis.edu - Marketing and Supply Chain Mgt 


Mathematical Sciences 
Scotty Glen Houston - sghoustn@memphis.edu - Mathematical Sciences 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Mathematical Sciences


Military Science 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Military Science



Naval Science 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Naval Science



Philosophy
Remy A Debes - rdebes@memphis.edu – Philosophy 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – Philosophy 
Kevin Curtis Taylor - kctylor3@memphis.edu – Philosophy



Physics
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – Physics



Political Science
Molly Bee Henderson - mbhndrsn@memphis.edu - Political Science 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Political Science



Psychology 
Gina Caucci - gcaucci@memphis.edu – Psychology 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – Psychology 
Helen Sable - hjsable@memphis.edu – Psychology



Public and Nonprofit Admin
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - Public and Nonprofit Admin



Regents On Line Degree Program
Joanne Gikas - jgikas@memphis.edu - Regents On Line Degree Program


School of Public Health

Debra Bartelli - dbtellli@memphise.edu - School of Public Health


School of Social Work 
Chau Thi Thanh Le - ctle@memphis.edu - School of Social Work 
Susan Neely-Barnes - snlybrns@memphis.edu - School of Social Work 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - School of Social Work 
Valerie Lynn Wince - vwince@memphis.edu - School of Social Work


 Sociology
Melissa Bamford - mjbmford@memphis.edu – Sociology 
Kendra L Murphy - khmrphy1@memphis.edu – Sociology 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu – Sociology 
Gretchen Peterson - gpterson@memphis.edu – Sociology



TRIOs
Melvyn D Harding - mharding@memphis.edu - TRIOs


Surg Tech
Janine Elizabeth Scott - jescott@memphis.edu - Surg Tech


Wilson School of Hospitality
Timothy Flohr - tflohr1@memphis.edu - Wilson School of Hospitality


World Languages & Literatures 
Adoracion Vargas Berry - aberry@memphis.edu - World Languages & Literatures 
Abby L Parrill-Baker - aparrill@memphis.edu - World Languages & Literatures  


Common Functions Available to Department Aide

  1. Managing Department Courses 

    1. Creating master and special, non-semester courses 

    2. Helping faculty share course content

  2. Managing Department Special Enrollments

    1. Adding Teaching Assistants to courses, as needed 

    2. Submitting enrollment requests for faculty and students in master and special courses

    3. Impersonating specific users to troubleshoot course issues
  3. Sharing Helpful Resources with Faculty, Staff, and Students

    1. The Service Request System

    2. Service Desk contact information - 901.678.8888, umtech@memphis.edu 

    3. UM3D Training and Resources
    4. Canvas Guides  

Preparation for Department Aides

The following are requirements for each person appointed to be Department Aide.

  1. Department Chair/Dean Appointment — A Department Chair or Dean may request that they or an appointee be given Department Aide access. UM3D will grant access to the appointee once a Department Aide request has been submitted by the Chair or Dean. 

  2. Department Aide Orientation — The appointed DA will be given ample resources to facilitate the role, including guides and webinars, and be invited to set up a Department Aide consultation to get them familiar with their role and responsibilities. 

Additional Information

For any additional questions, please contact UM3D or please submit an online service request.