Travel Alerts

Travel Announcement: Winter Break 2019/Returning Jan.2020

A random assortment of F-1 student records in the U.S. government's SEVIS system are showing Terminated, even though the students have been consistently enrolled.  Staff became aware of this government database error as returning students started having difficulty re-entering the U.S. after taking trips home.

What to do:
1. Contact the International Students Services office to see if your SEVIS record is affected.  Although this did effect dozens of international student files, there are hundreds of student files that continue to be in good standing with no problems.  We'll be glad to check, just contact us through e-mail:  TheWorld@memphis.edu 

2. When crossing the border, be prepared. Students can request a form I-515 for temporary entry to the U.S. if the SEVIS record does not match the expectations of the officers in the airport. Each immigration officer has independent discretion to issue the I-515 or not, so there is no guarantee that the request will be granted.  However, there is no penalty to ask, if they start to mention refusing entry.
Also note - entering with the tourist category, or with any other visa category that is not F-1, will mean a disruption of on-campus work eligibility, and a cancellation of CPT or OPT.  We do not recommend using any other visa category to enter, even if it is faster than asking for the I-515.

Please see more information about the I-515, here: https://studyinthestates.dhs.gov/what-is-a-form-i-515a

3. Stay in contact with our office! 
E-mail:  TheWorld@memphis.edu 
phone during regular hours:  (901) 678-5918
at night or during weekends - contact Campus Police who can find us in emergency situations:  (901) 678-HELP (-4357) 

Past Updates

Travel Announcement: Issued June 26, 2018

As you may have already seen in the news, in a 5/4 decision, the Supreme Court upheld the constitutional validity of Presidential Proclamation 9645. The travel ban affects individuals from Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen.


Jan. 2017 - Judge James L. Robart rules Travel Ban Unconstitutional

As you may have already seen in the news, a federal judges' ruling has suspended the travel ban for individuals from Iraq, Iran, Yemen, Somalia, Syria, Sudan and Libya. While Judge Robart's ruling may lift the specific travel ban that has been in place for the last several days, we continue to advise well-informed caution when traveling, and above all else, we recommend that all travelers have a minimum of two plans, in case of delays, denials, or blockage.

Feb. 2017 - United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) Update

"USCIS continues to adjudicate applications and petitions filed on or behalf of individuals in the United States regardless of their country of origin, applications and petitions of Lawful Permanent Residents outside the U.S., and applications and petitions for individuals outside the U.S. whose approval does not directly confer travel authorization. Applications to adjust status continue to be adjudicated, according to existing policies and procedures, for applicants who are nationals of countries designated in the Executive Order."

Our office will send additional updates if new developments are announced from official federal sources.

Note that the Visa Interview Waiver program continues to be suspended (also known as the Dropbox Renewal system). This means that individuals who may have planned for a drop off system for renewing their visas will have to schedule mandatory consular interviews, along with all first-time visa applicants. As this has increased the demand for interview slots on consulate calendars, please plan accordingly if your visa is expired and you are traveling.

Jan. 2016 - Immigration Travel Alert and Suspension of Visa Interview Waiver Program

On January 27, 2016, President Donald Trump signed an executive order suspending admission to the United States
of foreign nationals from the following countries for a period of at least 90 days: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan,
Syria and Yemen.

Foreign nationals from these countries are advised to refrain from any international travel, effective immediately.
While this order is in effect, admission or readmission to the United States will likely be denied, and the ban applies
to all ports of entry (e.g., air, land, and sea). It is unclear when this ban may be lifted. Based on the information to be
gathered by the State Department and Department of Homeland Security over the 90‐day period (April 27, 2017),
the suspension could be extended, and additional countries could be added to the list. At this time, it appears that
individuals currently present in the U.S. will not be impacted.

Who is Affected?

As written, the executive order is unclear as to exactly which foreign nationals will be affected. It is not evident from
the order specifically who is considered to be "from" one of these listed countries. Categories of those affected could
include citizens, dual citizens/nationals, permanent residents and/or passport holders from these countries. Until
further information and guidance is available, the order should be interpreted as broadly as possible to include
anyone potentially considered from these countries.

The order applies to both immigrant and non‐immigrant foreign nationals from these countries. These categories
include both holders of non‐immigrant visas (F‐1, B‐1, H‐1B, J‐1, etc.) and lawful permanent residents (i.e. green
card holders). As a result, individuals with visas or green cards could be denied entry to the United States on the basis
of this executive order.