About the Lab

(4/1/22) We're moving! Please find up-to-date information on the ACNL @ Indiana University: https://acnl.sitehost.iu.edu/index.html 



Principal Investigator 


Gavin M. Bidelman, PhD (CV) (PubMed) (Google Scholar) (Research Gate) is an auditory cognitive neuroscientist who uses neuroimaging and data science tools (EEG/ERPs, psychophysics, computational modeling, machine learning) to investigate foundational properties of auditory perception and cognition. The work includes elements of both basic research and clinically motivated inquiry. Lab studies proceed on three main fronts: (1) understanding the neurocomputations involved in the perception-cognition and novel learning of speech and musical sounds—with current emphasis on auditory categorization; (2) a neuroethological approach characterizing the upper bounds of brain plasticity via study of listeners with extraordinary auditory expertise (e.g., musicians, bilinguals); and translational work (3) examining changes in neurophysiological coding across the lifespan in both normal and clinical populations (hard of hearing, mild cognitive impairment). The lab is funded by the NIH/NIDCD. 


jesyin Jesyin Lai, PhD is a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Memphis. She completed her Ph.D. at Purdue University, where she researched on age-related hearing loss in rats. Although she has more experiences studying sound representations in the auditory system of animals, she would like to translate her experiences in animals to human. Her research interests include auditory and computational neuroscience, auditory attention and hearing loss. She is also interested in working on questions related to source prediction of hearing loss using computational tools.


PhD students 

jared Jared Carter is a PhD Student at the University of Memphis studying Communication Sciences and Disorders with a concentration in Neuroscience. He completed is MS in SLHS at the University of Arizona. His research interests include categorical perception of speech and interactions between language and auditory cortex in shaping categorization.



Jane Brown is a PhD student in Communication Sciences and Disorders with a Neuroscience focus. Originally from Baltimore, Maryland, Jane earned her BA in Biopsychology, Cognition, and Neuroscience from the University of Michigan in 2017. Before coming to Memphis, she spent two years in the Avian Behavioral Neuroscience Lab at the University of Maryland, where she studied auditory perception in songbirds. Her research interests include psychoacoustics and music-based neuroplasticity, and her current work is investigating the effects of familiarity in background music on speech listening. 

Email: jbrown64@memphis.edu


sara Sara Momtaz is a Ph.D. student at the University of Memphis studying Communication Sciences and Disorders with a concentration in hearing science. She also has a minor in cognitive science. Her academic interests are binaural hearing, auditory attention, and how they lead to perception and cognition using electrophysiological and neuroimaging approaches.  



Kazi Ashraf Moinuddin is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Memphis. He is a member of the CVPIA lab (PI: Mohammed Yeasin) and is a collaborator of the ACNL. His research interests are in auditory neuroscience, computational neuroscience, computer vision, pattern recognition, deep learning, and interpretable machine learning. 


AuD students

  • Carly Halley
  • Hadley Beach
  • Brian Decker
  • Maddie Purdue
  • Kimberly Skubic
  • Fallon Bernard
  • Christine Sledge


  • Caitlin Price, AuD, PhD
  • Kelsey Mankel, PhD
  • Karen L. Bell , AuD, PhD
  • Rakib Al-Fahad, PhD (ECE)
  • Claire Pearson, AuD
  • Ashleigh Harrison, AuD
  • Gwyneth Lewis, PhD (postdoc)
  • Jessica Yoo
  • Lauren Sigley, AuD
  • Kate Rivers Allen, AuD
  • Ashley Anne Peeples, AuD
  • Lauren Bush, AuD
  • Alex Boudreaux, AuD
  • Jacob Barber, AuD
  • Francisco Lopez Caballero (visiting Fall 2018)
  • Mary Katherine Davis, AuD
  • Louise Powers, AuD
  • Bonnie Brown, AuD
  • Gelareh Faz, AuD
  • Anusha Yellamsetty, PhD
  • Claire McElwain, AuD
  • Victoria Heitzman, AuD
  • Jessany Knapp, AuD
  • Hyunjoo Yoo, PhD
  • Sungmin Lee, PhD
  • Shelley Traylor, AuD
  • Calli Dugas, AuD
  • Breya Walker, MA (Psych)
  • Pouya Bashivan, PhD (ECE)
  • Jill Lowther, AuD
  • Lauren Dexter, AuD
  • Megan Howell, AuD
  • Ameenuddin Khaja
  • Jon Schug, AuD
  • Jeremy Grall, PhD (music)

Funding support: