Student Recognition Banner

English Department Awards Day 2024

English Department Awards Archive

2020 Award Winners
2021 Award Winners 
2022 Award Winners

2023 Award Winners

Congratulations to all of our 2024 winners! Our annual awards day will be on Thursday, April 25th (study day) from 11am-12pm in Patterson Hall 456. 

Undergraduate Awards

Giem and Collins Awards

1010 1020 2201
1st Place: Kristian Donaldson 1st Place: Claude Best 1st Place: Jessica Hope Sahota
2nd Place: Courtney T. Maxwell 2nd Place: Akeila Burgess 2nd Place: Avery DeShea Stratton
3rd Place: La’Kenciara Shavarse Taylor 3rd Place: Ash Best 3rd Place: Dallas E. Meador

Joseph and June Riley Essay Contest

1st Place: Nellie Hensley, “‘Beautiful, Flawed, and Proud’ People: American Exceptionalism and Creating Paradise in Toni Morrison’s Paradise
2nd Place: Audrey Rollen, “From Parchment to Pixels, and Richardson to Rowell”
3rd Place: Bee Wade, “Generational Trauma: The Color Purple and My Grandma”

Awards and Scholarships

Children's Literature Award: Charelle Cobbins
MidSouth Society for Technical Communication Scholarship: Courtney Powell
Emalie Appleton Brooks Memorial Scholarship: Romeo Gordon-Neely
Elizabeth Phillips Scholarship: Sydney Jackson & Sabrina Pierre
Department of English Distinguished Scholarship Award: Meg Felix

Graduate Awards

Concentration Awards

African American Literature: Obri Richardson
Literature: Kayla Lutes
Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication: Gabrielle Alston
Creative Writing Fiction: Chelsea Panameno
Creative Writing Non-Fiction: Gloria Odary
Creative Writing Poetry: Obiageli Iloakasia
Creative Writing Service Award: Samantha Williams & Clark Hubbard
Teresa Dalle TESOL Prize: Ming Cheng
Applied Linguistics: Scott Dutt

Awards, Fellowships, and Scholarships

Ruth and Henry Loeb Scharff Scholarship: Adam Austill, Jessica Ashah, JungHae Kim, Baylee Less, & Briona Nichols
William and Martha Donigan Department of English Graduate Scholarship: Samantha Williams
Eugenia & Fred P. Gattas Scholarship Fund: Sheronda Gipson-Marion & Noah Randolph
Dr. Lawrence and Sarah Wynn English Fellowship: Kayla Lutes
Dr. Lawrence and Sarah Wynn English Scholarship: Evelina Mykhovska
Outstanding Graduate Student Award: Clark Hubbard
Rebecca Argall Award for Graduate Student Teaching Excellence: Kaitlynn Means
Joe Orgill Fellowship in English: Ming Cheng & Heri Yusup
Department of English Service Award: Matthew Farmer, Clark Hubbard, Kayla Lutes, & Obri Richardson