2019 News (Archives)

Awards and Recognition

Congratulations to Dr. Gisele Goldstein who was awarded the UofM 2019 College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Research Award (CASDRA).

Congratulations to Dr. John Haddock who was awarded the Dunavant Professorship for 2019-2022.

Dr. Irena Lasiecka, Distinguished University Professor is the 2019 recipient of the annual Richard E.Bellman Control Heritage Award of the American Automatic Control Council, the highest award of such professional organization. She received the Award on July 11, in Philadelphia, at the annual conference of this society, before a gathering of over 1,000 people. In the 40-year history of this annual Bellman Award, this is the first time that a woman was selected.

Dr. Irena Lasiecka, Distinguished University Professor was named a 2019 Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics. SIAM Fellows are nominated for excellence in research and/or industrial work, educational and community activities, or other forms of achievements related to the goals of the organization. Learn more about the 2019 Fellows recipients. Lasiecka was named a fellow for fundamental contributions to control theory of partial differential equations and their dissemination through numerous invited talks, administration positions in professional societies and the mentoring of many PhD students and postdoctoral associates. She is the first UofM faculty member to receive this honor and only the third in the State of Tennessee.

Dr. Irena Lasiecka, Distinguished University Professor has been interviewed by IEEE Control Systems Magazine, December 2019 vol 39, nr 6. The interview is posted in the section “People in Control" and gives visibility to several PhD students in the UofM Department Of Mathematical Sciences.