News & Events 

For more news and live information please visit MSCI blogs or Cantor Sect (on Facebook).

Past news & events: 2013-2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022.

  • Dr. Bentuo Zheng  has been named departmental Erdos Professor 2023-2026. Prior awardees were Paul Balister (2013-2016), David Grynkiewicz (2016-2019), and Mate Wierdl (2019-2023). 
  • Dr. Irena Lasiecka was one of the 9 plenary speakers at the 14th ISAAC Congress in Sao Paolo, Brasil held July 17-21, 2023. The Congress featured over 300 participants. See Link Below:
  • https://dcm.ffclrp.usp.br/isaac/

  • Dr. Vladimir Nikiforov has been named departmental Erdos Professor 2023-2026. Prior awardees were Paul Balister (2013-2016), David Grynkiewicz (2016-2019), and Mate Wierdl (2019-2023). 

  • Dr. Irena Lasiecka, a distinguished University professor and the chair of the Department of Mathematical Sciences, was recently featured by SIAM News in an article honoring mathematicians and statisticians.


  • Dr. Irena Lasiecka is one of the 9 plenary speakers at the 22nd ECMI Conference (https://ecmi2023.org) on Industrial and Applied Mathematics, 26-30 June, Wroclaw, Poland. ECMI stands for The European Consortium for Mathematics in Industry. The title of her presentation: Can we control flutter in flow-structure interactions? Click here for the poster.
  • Dr. E. Olúẹ́gun George, professor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences, has been invited by the National Association of Mathematicians to give the 2023 Albert Turner Bharucha-Reid Lecture.

New Concentration in Actuarial Science!

In addition to concentrations in Mathematics, Applied Statistics, and Data Science, the Department of Mathematical Sciences offers a concentration in Actuarial Sciences now (2023). This concentration prepares students with the requisite knowledge of mathematics, applied statistics, probability, accounting, and finance needed for a career in risk assessment and quantification in the insurance industry, where median salaries are over $100K according to U.S.News.

Conferences at the University of Memphis

The Mid-South DATA Conference 2023 will be held on April 6 – 7, 2023.

The 6th International Conference on Design of Experiments (ICODOE 2022) will be held on May 8 – 11, 2023.


The Math Learning Center has moved to Dunn Hall 341 (the old Math Library).

The Department of Mathematical Sciences is happy to announce the return of our Weekly Colloquium Series, with the fall schedule coming soon. Please check the departmental calendar for further information.

Plenary Talks/Invited course-lectures by the DMS Faculty
The Faculty of the DMS is actively involved in cutting edge research in the mathematical sciences. This is reflected by the several high-visibility, invited talks and course-lectures presented worldwide. Some of the key-note talks and lectures recently delivered/to be soon delivered by the DMS Faculty are given. Follow our departmental calendar for updates!

The Combinatorics Group is rebooting our Combinatorics Seminar. We're planning on having one soon in the Combinatorics Seminar Room on the 2nd floor of Dunn Hall. The Ralph Faudree Postdoc, Chao Liu, will give the talk, Title: The Multiplicative Properties for Zero-Sums. Abstract: In this talk, we will present recent joint work in Zero-Sum Theory by David J. Grynkiewicz and Chao Liu. We investigate the multiplicative properties for Zero-Sums on finite abelian groups of rank 2, which allows us to establish the structures for the extremal sequences that do not contain nontrivial zero-sum subsequences of the relevant short lengths.


Recent 2023 Ranking of Mathematics Departments: The Department of Mathematical Sciences at the University of Memphis is ranked # 50 nationally and # 112 worldwide on Research.com website, among Departments of Mathematics). The university ranking for Mathematics was developed by Research.com, one of the prominent platforms for computer science research maintaining reliable data on scientific contributions since 2014, with the aim of answering the question of what is the best Mathematics university. More details can be found on the methodology page. A detailed definition of our research process can be found on the link below.


Awards, Scholarships, and Recognition

The Paul Erdős Professorship in Mathematics

Photo of Paul Erdos

The Paul Erdős Professorship in Mathematics is the most prestigious departmental faculty award on campus, designed to recognize and support tenure faculty within the department who have made outstanding contributions in teaching, scholarship, service, community outreach, and engaged research at the University of Memphis. The award is named after the legendary mathematician Paul Erdős (26 March 1913 – 20 September 1996), a Hungarian mathematician who published more papers than any other mathematician in history. He worked on problems in combinatorics, graph theory, number theory, classical analysis, approximation theory, set theory and probability theory. He collaborated with many other mathematicians, including several at the University of Memphis: Bela Bollobás, Cecil Rousseau, Richard Schelp, and Ralph Faudree. Paul Erdős visited the University of Memphis frequently from the mid 1970s until his death, bringing distinction to the mathematics department at the University, and his influence continues to make its mark on the department.

The creation of the Paul Erdős Professorship was spearheaded by then provost Dr. Ralph Faudree. While multiple donors have given to make this endowment possible, a special thanks goes to both the late T. George Traicoff and the late Cecil Rousseau. Their generosity has ensured that the Department has a lasting legacy to a special friend in Paul Erdos, while also helping to reward and retain its brightest faculty.   

Jamie McMahan Scholarship in Math

Math Department has received a generous endowed gift, Jamie McMahan Scholarship in Math. This scholarship is for undergraduate students with financial needs majoring in Math.
A minimum of a 3.0 GPA  is required.

The Dr. Karen E. Chancellor Memorial Scholarship 

The Dr. Karen E. Chancellor Memorial Scholarship endowment has been created for the ABM [Accelerated Baccalaureate Master] program.

Karen Chancellor

The Scholarship will provide partial support for ABM students in their final year of the program. Students will be able to apply for the Karen Chancellor Memorial Scholarship from November 2023 through February 2024 in the Tiger Scholarship Manager system. The Department wishes to express heartfelt thanks of gratitude to Ms. Carol Chancellor for her generous gift in memory of her sister Karen, which will truly enhance the ABM program in DMS.

The Dr. Karen E. Chancellor Memorial Scholarship was established by her sister, Carol Chancellor. Dr. Chancellor (BA “80; MS ’80) served as Shelby County’s medical examiner for nearly 14 years before her tragic death on Sept. 10, 2021, following a car crash. At an early age, Dr. Chancellor demonstrated a penchant for the scholarship. After graduating from Overton High School in Memphis, she became of the first students to graduate from the University of Memphis with an undergraduate and a master’s degrees at the same time. She later earned a medical degree from Duke University School of Medicine. In 2012, Dr. Chancellor was awarded the University of Memphis Outstanding Alumna Award. This scholarship will be awarded to full-time students enrolled in their second year of the Accelerated Bachelor’s and Master’s Degree Program in the Department of Mathematical Sciences.