Distinguished Teaching Award

Each year, four members of the University faculty are presented Distinguished Teaching Service Awards in recognition of the high quality of their teaching. The selection procedure prescribes that students, faculty, and alumni be given the opportunity to nominate faculty members who meet the following eligibility requirements:

  1. The faculty member must have been employed full-time at The University of Memphis for three or more years.
  2. The faculty member must be teaching a minimum of nine semester hours with either six undergraduate hours with a total of thirty or more students in two classes or six graduate hours with a total of fifteen or more students in two classes.  (The enrollment requirements may be met by including all courses being taught by the faculty member during that term.)
  3. Former award winners may not be re-nominated within seven years of the first award and may not receive the award more than twice.
  4. At least two of the four awards must go to faculty members whose work is predominantly undergraduate.

Nominations are screened by the Distinguished Teaching Service Awards Committee, and the twenty faculty members receiving the largest number of nominations are notified. If they desire to participate, they are evaluated by their students and department chair.

This information is compiled and reviewed by the Committee which then makes the final selections. Each person who is selected receives a $500 honorarium and a certificate at the spring Faculty Meeting.

Further information may be obtained from the Office of the Director of Graduate Studies and Research in the Office of the Dean.