SPH News & Events

Dr. AhnEmergency department and inpatient utilization among U.S. older adults with multiple chronic conditions: a post-reform update

Older Medicare beneficiaries with multiple chronic conditions increased emergency department (ED) visits but decreased inpatient utilization throughout the course of the Affordable Care Act (ACA), according to a study published in BMC Health Services Research.

Dr. SangNam Ahn, University of Memphis School of Public Health, led the study with other researchers including Dr. Mustafa Hussein of University of Wisconsin—Milwaukee, Dr. Asos Mahmood of University of Memphis School of Public Health, and Dr. Matthew Lee Smith of Texas A&M School of Public Health. Read paper >

2020 Scholarship AwardeesThree Scholarships Awarded to First-Year MPH Students

The School of Public Health is pleased to announce the award of scholarships to three first-year MPH students. Gabrielle Dowdy received the Dr. Roger and Mary E. LaBonte Scholarship. Rebecca Kronenberg and Ashli B. Martin were named 2020 Public Health Community Scholars. Read More >

SPH Student Achievement Awards

The School of Public Health is pleased to offer Student Achievement Awards to recognize one outstanding student in each of our six Master's and Doctoral Programs. Students may be nominated by faculty or nominate themselves for this award, which includes cash prizes of $300 for Master's students and $500 for Doctoral students. The application deadline is March 1, 2020.
Click here for announcement for each award: (MPH) (MHA) (MS Biostatistics and Epi PhD) (SBS PhD) (HSP PhD).

CEPH Re-accreditation: Third-Party Comments invited!

The University of Memphis School of Public Health is scheduled for a re-accreditation review by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH) on April 1-3, 2020. Third-party comments provide our stakeholders with the opportunity to submit feedback to CEPH on our school's practices, procedures, and policies.

CEPH is accepting written comments from students, alumni, faculty, staff, community partners, and members of the general public until March 1, 2020 (30 days before the site visit). All third party comments should be emailed or mailed directly to Alexandra DiOrio, MPH, Accreditation Specialist: adiorio@ceph.org; Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH), 1010 Wayne Avenue, Suite 220, Silver Spring, MD 20910.