Estimated Tuition & Costs
The value of your legal education at the University of Memphis Cecil C. Humphreys School of Law compares very favorably with that available at other state-assisted and private institutions. University tuition and fees are determined by the University of Memphis Board of Trustees and are subject to change each year.
FIND YOUR STATE ON THE MAP TO SEE HOW AFFORDABLE MEMPHIS LAW IS FOR YOU!
The costs of attendance estimate for the 2023-2024* academic year (Fall & Spring Semesters) are as follows:
|Tuition & Fees
|Room & Board
*Subject to change per University of Memphis Board of Trustees. Based on full-time enrollment (30 credit hours) for the academic year. Part-time tuition & fees are billed by the credit hour. Tuition and fees above includes a $20 per credit hour law library fee with no maximum (30 hours for entering students in the 2023-2024 academic year).
Border Counties Tuition Waiver
In an effort to accommodate students from neighboring counties, the University of Memphis School of Law will consider qualified non-resident students as border county residents for purposes of admission and tuition. To qualify for the Border County Tuition Waiver, students must document their permanent residence in one of the five counties listed below. This tuition waiver is determined primarily from information provided on the application for admission to the law school. The School of Law Admissions Office may require applicants to submit additional documentation. Questions about eligibility for the Border County Tuition Waiver should be directed to the Law School Admissions Office.
Eligible Counties include: Crittenden County, Arkansas and Desoto, Marshall, Tate & Tunica Counties in Mississippi
Note: Students on non-immigrant visas are not eligible for the Border County Tuition Wavier
Applicants selected for the entering class will be extended an offer of acceptance in writing. Applicants who choose to accept the offer must confirm their acceptance by April 13th or, in the case of an applicant who is accepted after April 1, within two weeks of receipt of notification. A $250 seat deposit is required of all accepted students regardless of residency. $200 of the deposit is applied towards fall tuition and $50 is an orientation fee. This deposit is non refundable.
An applicant who does not confirm and/or pay the seat deposit within the deadline specified in the acceptance letter will forfeit his or her seat in the entering class.
A mandatory orientation and registration program for entering students is held each fall prior to the beginning of classes. Details concerning the orientation session are sent to accepted students in late spring.