X

Faculty and Staff in the Department of English 

Staff 

Terrence Tucker
Department Chair, Professor 
901-678-2651
467 Patterson Hall
tttucker@memphis.edu
Bridget Wells 
Assistant to the Chair and Department Registrar 
901-678-4385
469 Patterson Hall
bwells6@memphis.edu 
Vacant
Undergraduate Advisor 
901-678-4500
471 Patterson Hall
Vacant 
Financial Services Associate 
901-678-2254
401C Patterson Hall
Vacant 
Undergraduate Office 
901-678-2651
467 Patterson Hall
Sarah Ellis 
Graduate Office 
901-678-1448
461 Patterson Hall
smellis@memphis.edu 
Emily Gillo 
Instructor/Coordinator, Marketing & Communication
901-678-2164
401B Patterson Hall 
epsmith2@memphis.edu

Faculty

African American Literature 

Terrence Tucker 
Department Chair, Professor 
901-678-2651
467 Patterson Hall
tttucker@memphis.edu
Shelby Crosby 
African American Literature Coordinator, Associate Professor 
901-678-4583
423 Patterson Hall
scrosby1@memphis.edu 
Ladrica Menson-Furr 
Director of African American Studies, Associate Professor
901-678-5455
419 Patterson Hall
lnmsnfrr@memphis.edu
Verner Mitchell 
Professor 
901-678-3099
417 Patterson Hall
vdmtchll@memphis.edu 
Kathy Lou Schultz 
Associate Professor
901-678-2651
443 Patterson Hall
klschltz@memphis.edu 

Applied Linguistics  

Rebecca Adams
Applied Linguistics Coordinator, Associate Professor 

901-678-4892
409 Patterson Hall
radams4@memphis.edu 
J. Elliott Casal
Assistant Professor
901-678-2164
440 Patterson Hall
jecasal@memphis.edu
Ronald Fuentes 
Director of Online Programs, Associate Professor 
901-678-4692
439 Patterson Hall
rfuentes@memphis.edu
Sage Graham
Professor 
901-678-2651
437 Patterson Hall
sgraham2@memphis.edu
Emily Thrush 
Professor 
901-678-4215
401D Patterson Hall
ethrush@memphis.edu
Leah Cathryn Windsor
Associate Professor, Institute for Intelligent Systems
901-678-2164
Patterson Hall
leah.windsor@memphis.edu
Lyn Wright
Professor 
901-678-2651
441 Patterson Hall
ewfogle@memphis.edu

Creative Writing  

Marcus Wicker 
Creative Writing Coordinator, Associate Professor 
901-678-2651
429 Patterson Hall
mwicker1@memphis.edu
Mark Mayer 
Assistant Professor 
901-678-2651
420 Patterson Hall
mmayer@memphis.edu 
Eric Schlich
Editor-in-Chief of The Pinch, Assistant Professor 
901-678-2651
431 Patterson Hall
bschlich@memphis.edu
Emily Skaja 
Assistant Professor 
901-678-2651
427 Patterson Hall
easkaja@memphis.edu

Literary and Cultural Studies  

Darryl Domingo
Literary and Cultural Studies Coordinator, Associate Professor 
901-678-2458
407 Patterson Hall
dphnrhnd@memphis.edu
Theron Britt 
Associate Professor 
901-678-4506
453 Patterson Hall
tbritt@memphis.edu
Cristina Maria Cervone 
Director of English Honors, Associate Professor 
901-678-2651
411 Patterson Hall
cmcrvone@memphis.edu
Lorinda Cohoon 
Associate Professor 
901-678-2651
110 Patterson Hall
lcohoon@memphis.edu 
Shelby Crosby 
African American Literature Coordinator, Associate Professor 

901-678-4583
423 Patterson Hall
scrosby1@memphis.edu 
Donal Harris 
Director of Marcus Orr Center for the Humanities, Associate Professor
901-678-2651
449 Patterson Hall
donal.harris@memphis.edu
Ladrica Menson-Furr 
Director of African American Studies, Associate Professor

901-678-5455
419 Patterson Hall
lnmsnfrr@memphis.edu
Carey Mickalites 
Professor 
901-678-2651
413 Patterson Hall
cjmcklts@memphis.edu
Verner Mitchell 
Professor 

901-678-3099
417 Patterson Hall
vdmtchll@memphis.edu 
Joshua Phillips 
Associate Professor 
901-678-2651
451 Patterson Hall
jsphllps@memphis.edu
Kathy Lou Schultz 
Associate Professor

901-678-2651
443 Patterson Hall
klschltz@memphis.edu 
Jeffrey Scraba 
Associate Professor 
901-678-4768
455 Patterson Hall
jscraba@memphis.edu
Terrence Tucker 
Department Chair, Professor 
901-678-2651
467 Patterson Hall
tttucker@memphis.edu

Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication

Elizabeth Lane
WRTC Coordinator, Assistant Professor 
901-678-2651
447 Patterson Hall
etlane@memphis.edu
William Duffy
Graduate Studies Coordinator, Associate Professor 
901-678-2651
445 Patterson Hall
weduffy@memphis.edu
Katherine Fredlund 
Director of First-Year Writing, Associate Professor 
901-678-2651
405 Patterson Hall
kfrdlund@memphis.edu 
Joseph Jones 
Undergraduate Studies Coordinator, Associate Professor 
901-678-1164
459 Patterson Hall
jgjones@memphis.edu

Loel Kim
Associate Professor 

901-678-2651
421 Patterson Hall
loelkim@memphis.edu
Tori Thomposon Peters 
Assistant Professor 
901-678-2651
426 Patterson Hall
ttpeters@memphis.edu
Scott Sundvall 
Assistant Professor 

901-678-2651
415 Patterson Hall
ssndvall@memphis.edu
Emily Thrush 
Professor 

901-678-4215
401D Patterson Hall
ethrush@memphis.edu

Teaching Faculty 

Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-4636
310 Patterson Hall
tansbro@memphis.edu 
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
214 Patterson Hall
cablack2@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-4808
320 Patterson Hall
cbolton@memphis.edu
Shanna Cameron
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
106 Patterson Hall
slcmeron@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Internship Coordinator
901-678-4590
304 Patterson Hall
rkplwitz@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
326 Patterson Hall
wdclment@memphis.edu
Cathy Dice 
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-4535
432 Patterson Hall
cdice@memphis.edu
Veverly Edwards
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
120 Patterson Hall
vmedwrds@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-5908
306 Patterson Hall
aggal@memphis.edu
Emily Gillo
Instructor/Coordinator, Marketing & Communication 
901-678-2164
401B Patterson Hall 
epsmith2@memphis.edu
Nicholas Gorrell
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
108 Patterson Hall
nngrrell@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
230 Patterson Hall
pmhayes@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
308 Patterson Hall
trjones1@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Assistant Director of First-Year Writing
901-678-2651
322 Patterson Hall
cnmyers@memphis.edu
Kimberly Payne
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
117 Patterson Hall
kpayne@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-5598
418 Patterson Hall
rrpowers@memphis.edu
Adam Ruh
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
216 Patterson Hall
akruh@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Director of River City Writers' Series
901-678-2651
416 Patterson Hall
cmsanto@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
428 Patterson Hall
sssmith2@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-2651
218 Patterson Hall
gcvrbist@memphis.edu
Assistant Professor of Teaching
901-678-3496
117 Patterson Hall
lswilsn1@memphis.edu
Elizabeth Weston
Lambuth Campus 
Associate Professor of Teaching
731-425-1927
207C Varnell-Jones, Lambuth
eaweston@memphis.edu
Gray Hilmerson
Lambuth Campus 
Associate Professor of Teaching
731-425-1924
207B Varnell-Jones, Lambuth 
gbhlmrsn@memphis.edu

Emeritus Faculty 

Rebecca Argall Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication
Mary Battle Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication 
John Bensko Creative Writing 
Cynthia Bernstein Applied Linguistics 
William Carpenter Administration
Cary Holladay Creative Writing 
Mary MacNealy Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication
Catherine Martin  Literature
James Newcomb Literature
William O'Donnell Literature
Gordon Osing Creative Writing 
Henry Peyton  Literature
Gene Plunka  Writing, Rhetoric, and Technical Communication 
Stephen Tabachnick  Literature
Cynthia Tucker  Literature