Graduate Faculty Members

Before undertaking ANY work on a master's thesis or doctoral dissertation, a faculty committee must be formed, and the Graduate School should be notified of said committee (minimum of three members for a master's thesis committee; minimum of four members for a doctoral dissertation committee). It is the student's responsibility to ensure that all members of their committee are current members of the graduate faculty. Students must not defend their document until all committee members have U of M graduate faculty status, even if a committee member is not affiliated with this university. Click on the links below to find departmental listings of current graduate faculty members within each college or school.


The University maintains distinct levels of graduate faculty: full, associate, and external. 

  • Full or associate graduate faculty may chair master's committees.
  • Only Full graduate faculty members may chair doctoral committees.
  • External members cannot chair a master's or doctoral committees.  
  • Only one external member is allowed on a master's or doctoral committee.
  • An emeritus faculty member continues to serve as a dissertation chairman under the condition that the supervised dissertation has passed a proposal defense before the emeritus faculty member retires.

If the chair of a student's committee leaves the University of Memphis, that person can no longer serve as chair and must be replaced by another graduate faculty member.


College of Arts and Sciences

School of Urban Affairs and Public Policy

Fogelman College of Business and Economics

College of Communication and Fine Arts

College of Education

Herff College of Engineering

Loewenberg College of Nursing

Kemmons Wilson School of Hospitality & Resort Management

School of Communication Sciences and Disorders

College of Health Sciences

School of Public Health

College of Professional & Liberal Studies

University Library